Basketball HOF announces 2013 finalists

Basketball HOF announces 2013 finalists
February 15, 2013, 11:45 pm
Share This Post

Clyde Drexler: HOF nominees

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced its 12 finalists from the Hall of Fame Class of 2013 in Houston as a part of NBA All-Star Weekend.

First-time finalists include Tim Hardaway, Gary Payton, Sylvia Hatchell, Tom Heinsohn, Dawn Staley and Mitch Richmond. Maurice Cheeks, Spencer Haywood, Bernard King, Guy Lewis, Rick Pitino and Jerry Tarkanian round out the list of previous finalists

Nine-time NBA All Star and former OSU Beaver Gary Payton said, “This is a great honor to even be this far, this close. I never thought I’d ever get to this stage but it’s here and I’m just going to relax and just hope that it happens.”

The Class of 2013 will be announced April 8 during the NCAA Final Four.

Jerry Colangelo, Chairman of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Board of Governors, during the release of the names, stated, "We are proud to share an incredible group of finalists for the Class of 2013 -- a distinct list of coaches and players who excelled at many levels of basketball. It will be a difficult decision for the Honors Committee to select the final class members from this prestigious group of individuals, each of whom has given so much to the game."